2018 Safety In Seas Competition


NOIA Awards Logo_Final

Since 1978, the National Ocean Industries Association has held the Safety in Seas (SIS) Awards competition to recognize excellence among those who, by their actions, design or influence, have contributed to improving the safety of life in the offshore energy industry.  NOIA confers two distinct safety awards annually.  The Culture of Safety Award honors a company (or companies) for overall organizational immersion in and commitment to safety, which has resulted in remarkable, measurable, and sustained safety performance over a prolonged period of time. The Safety Practice Award recognizes specific technologies, approaches, methods or projects with direct and demonstrable impacts on improving safety. An independent selection committee, including representatives from the National Academy of Sciences, the U.S. Coast Guard, the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement and an independent Industry consultant selects the nominee from each award category that has made the most important contribution to safety of life offshore.

2018 SIS Safety Practice Winner: Deepwater Wind 

2018 SIS Culture of Safety Winner: EnVen Energy Corporation

The winners of the 2018 NOIA Safety in Seas Awards will deliver presentations during the Association’s fall meeting to be held October 3-5, 2018 in San Antonio, Texas.  Should you have questions or require additional information, please contact Nicolette Nye at (202) 465-8463 or at nnye@nullnoia.org.

Past Winners