Safety In Seas Awards

NOIA Awards Logo_Final


Safety in Seas Awards 

In 1972, a submersible accident took the lives of two divers from the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution, Inc. The tragedy illustrated the ever present threat of life and property as the vast ocean resource is explored and developed. Acknowledging the significant contributions made by these men and other modern-day pioneers in their pursuit of the ocean frontier, Compass Publications, Inc., publishers of Sea Technology magazine, established the National Ocean Industries Association Safety in Seas Award in 1978.

Since 2014, NOIA has conferred two distinct safety awards annually to recognize excellence among those who, by their actions, design or influence, have contributed to improving the safety of life offshore.

The Culture of Safety Award honors overall organizational immersion in and commitment to safety, which has resulted in remarkable, measurable, and sustained safety performance over a prolonged period of time.

The Safety Practice Award recognizes specific technologies, approaches, methods or projects with direct and demonstrable impacts on improving safety.

The winners of the Safety in Seas Awards are determined by an independent selection committee.  The awards are presented each spring in Washington, DC.

2020 Safety in Seas Competition

Past Winners