Homeland Security and the Ocean Industries

Homeland Security and the Ocean Industries

Congress enacted the Maritime Transportation Security Act of 2002, paving the way for a new spate of Coast Guard regulations that alter security requirements for every facet of the ocean industries. This site is intended to serve as a "first stop" for maritime security information. Please contact the Coast Guard for official information and NOIA Public Affairs  for assistance with this site.


Maritime Security Information Index

Maritime Security FAQ USCG Regulations (links to full text)  Maritime Transportation Security Act of 2002 (full text)(right click and select "SaveAs")
Basic Info for OCS Facilities USCG Hotline and Mailing Address  MARSEC Threat Levels
Basic Info for Vessels USCG Navigation and Vessel Inspection Circulars (NVICs) New Coast Guard  Rule Clarification on for OCS Facilities
Other Maritime Facilities  USCG Security Orientation & Training Bulletins

June 9, 2006:

Department of Homeland Security issues new Interim Interagency Joint Field Office (JFO) Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) developed in accordance with the National Response Plan (NRP) and approved by the Homeland Security Council.

Click here to download.

May 5, 2005:

Department of Homeland Security Issues Guidance and Template for Sector-Specific Plans

A fundamental objective of the National Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP) Program is to identify and protect infrastructures deemed most “critical” in terms of their potential affects on national-level public health and safety, governance, economic and national security, and public confidence.

DHS issued initial Guidance for Developing Sector-specific Plans (SSPs) as Input to the National Infrastructure Protection Plan (NIPP) to Sector-Specific Agencies (SSAs) in April 2004 that was the basis for the draft SSPs that were delivered to DHS in September 2004. The content of these SSPs was evaluated against the Guidance and letters were issued to each SSA that detailed areas for improvement in the SSPs. The SSAs subsequently responded with their planned approach for addressing areas for improvement.

This template and guidance provides SSAs with additional information on what DHS expects that all SSPs should contain to ensure consistency and effective integration with the National CIP Program. This includes roles and responsibilities, new content, added emphasis on current SSP content, and updates to current content based on an evolution of the NIPP Risk Management Framework.

To review the full template on energy industry-specific infrastructure protection plans, please click here.

Basic Facts

MARSEC The Coast Guard has developed a three-tiered system of Maritime Security (MARSEC) Levels consistent with the Department of Homeland Security's Homeland Security Advisory System (HSAS). MARSEC Levels were designed to provide a means to easily communicate pre-planned scalable responses to increased threat levels. MARSEC Levels will be set commensurate with the Homeland Security Alert System. Because of the unique nature of the maritime industry, the HSAS threat conditions and MARSEC Levels will align closely, though they will not directly correlate.

Under the Maritime Transportation Security Act of 2002 (MTSA), Outer Continental Shelf (OCS) Facilities are generally offshore fixed platforms in water depths ranging up to 1,000 feet deep whose primary purpose is the exploration, development, and/or production of offshore petroleum reserves. This definition also includes Tension Leg Platforms (TLP), SPARS, Floating Production Facilities (converted MODUs), and Floating Production Storage Offloading units (FPSOs).

The Coast Guard issued a clarification of its rule on OCS Facility Security that may cover previously excluded facilities. Download the new rule here.

Reference: 33 CFR 106

Full Text of Maritime Security Final Rules

National Ocean Industries Association
1120 G Street, NW • Suite 900
Washington, DC 20005

Phone: 202.347.6900 | Email: media@nullnoia.org